top of page

Finals at Tehachapi - SoCal #5

I knew what I had to do. My "homework" was done the day after the last race at Vail; I knew where I had to place in addition to where Maddy (my threat to the series overall title and who had won the last two races) needed to place for me to keep the Leader jersey.

I was trained up and excited to be able to race to my fullest without the restraint of being sick. The two girls who had missed one race and two races, McKenzie and Gabbi respectively, where both going to be racing which I knew played to my advantage.

We arrived at the venue, Friday at noon, set up camp, and headed out for a pre-ride. The course felt great, I had some of my fastest times on a few sections of the course, and I knew I was in good shape for the race.

Saturday I spent seated in shade, and drinking lots of water. It was warm out and I knew the race would be a toasty one.

I watched some middle school racing and then headed out for another pre-ride on the course. As the night came I felt confident, but my nerves were starting to rise. I gave my concern to the Lord. Whatever was going to happen was going to happen. I didn't want to stress over it; I wanted to give my concern over to God and do the best I could.

Sunday morning came fast, but I had the luxury of camping at our pit, so I had no rush in the morning. My nerves again started to surface, but were quelled after reading from my Bible.

It was feeling really warm during my warm-up even with the ice-water towel around my shoulders. I tried to keep my nerves calm and used the time to refocus and pray for the race ahead, for God's will to be played out, and for me to be pleased with my result. Soon enough I was on the start line trying to keep my muscles warm. Brandon gave the pre-race instructions and then we were off!

The start was quick, spearheaded by Genevieve. She led the group up the first road climb and pulled off. I led into the first singletrack and started to string the field out. I had a few second gap at the base of the next climb which was swallowed up. It was me then Gabbi, Mack, a bit back Haley, and a little farther Genevieve, and Maddy. I had the group starting to form how I wanted it to. I kept driving and stringing the girls out.

Half way down the last descent I heard the faint "spitting" of Stan's coming out of my tire. I wouldn't allow myself to think I was getting a flat tire, "I'm hearing something else." I convinced myself. After the start/finish the pack of three I was in slowed down and Mack crossed the few second gap. I could see Genevieve and Maddy behind us; Genevieve skillfully blocking Maddy. I was exactly where I wanted to be. The second lap on the first climb Gabbi pulled a little gap on me which was immediately shut down when she crashed on the first singletrack. Again I came to the base of the climb in first, with a bigger gap this time. Gabbi caught my wheel and we fought for the lead through the singletrack splits; I won them both and continued in the front. This time on the descent I could not see any pink helmet (Maddy's helmet) knowing I probably had about one minute on her. We continued down the singletrack.

On one of the rocks you get a little air off of; I missed my line by an inch and hit another small rock, I heard my tire "snap" off of it. "Lord, please seal up anything that happened to my tire." I prayed. Again on the same part of the course as the past lap I heard the "spitting" of Stan's. "No! It's not a flat, just something else." We completed the lap and it was only me, Gabbi, and Mack in the front group. I followed Gabbi through the singletrack descent and climb. I knew I had the Leader jersey sealed and it started to become harder to stick on Gabbi's wheel. I had already won one of the races I was in (the points race). Mack passed me at the top of the last major climb. I always had Gabbi and Mack in my sight, but I didn't have enough strength to pull them back. My rear tire was feeling squishy down the last part of the descent; I had gotten a puncture, I had lost over five pounds of pressure, but my Stan's did its' job and clogged the hole. I dropped down to the finish line in third,

but more importantly I finished as the 2018 Varsity girls Series Champion!

The podium ceremony was extra long with the addition of recognizing the volunteers, coaches, teen trail corps, senior racers, and overall results for individuals and teams to the already individual and team podiums for the day. When the the Varsity girls podium started it finally sunk in that I was the final Leader. Matt explained the extra "gift" for the Varsity Leaders at the end of the season: a big fancy belt buckle stating 2018 Varsity Series Champion!

This was my final SoCal race of my high school career, it was sad to know that HS racing has come to an end. I am excited to open a new chapter of racing and join Milligan College's cycling team this fall and race collegiately for the next four years!

Thank you to all my family who came out to all the races to cheer me on and through everyday encouragement. Thank you to my sister, Genevieve, for your help to propel me to first overall both on and off the bike, And thank you to my sponsors: Speed Tuned Wheels, for race wheels; Ice Sports Wear, for the excellent kits; and Oakley, for the fabulous eyewear.

bottom of page