top of page

A Different kind of Victory at Vail

I've been procrastinating... Not wanting to write this blog and relive the past weekend's race at Vail. This race was hard. I knew it would be since my cold from Keyesville was still in my system. I spent the gap week off the bike, on the couch, resting to get over the cold as fast as possible. I tried to keep my mind strong and positive through the week.

Saturday, pre-riding, I felt decent but I could tell I wasn't 100%. All I could do was rest and give everything I could on race day.

As I toed the start line Sunday I knew I wasn't completely healthy. I tried to shove that thought out of my mind. Soon enough we were rolling. I stayed on Maddy's wheel through the first lap, my body felt ok but I knew she was stronger, especially on the climbs.

On the second lap my body started to decline and Maddy dropped me. Through the rest of the race (one and a half laps) my body kept falling apart. I was low on energy, my lungs were on fire, my chest was throbbing, my lungs were filling with phlegm; I was in survival mode. I finally finished. I got fourth and still kept the Leader Jersey!

It's disappointing to have had two bad races in a row. But there was nothing I could of done, the sickness had to run it's course, and I had to try to limit the damage. It was difficult knowing I was at my body's mercy. It was trying to be under the inhibiting effects of my cold. It would have been so easy to succumb to my self-made pressure and defeat... to just give up. But that's not me. The only option was to dig in my heels and hold my ground, don't get overwhelmed, and keep my focus strong through the mess. It was a time of character stretching and building. I wish it had never happened, but it did, and I am definitely stronger for it.

Crazy things happen when you are diligent and keep digging when it gets hard. I thought my Leader jersey was gone during the first Vail race after my leg blew up, but I fought on and kept the points lead by a mere one point. Again in Keyesville, while sick and dropping back through the field, I feared I might loose the jersey, but once again I saved it. Finally at Vail, I thought for sure I would loose the Leader jersey to Maddy who had pulled out another win, but somehow I managed to overcome, and still be in the points lead! I'm trying to say, while yes, the past weeks broke down my morale, I am more motivated and determined to out-perform myself again. I have fought back from lots of adversity this season and I'm not ready to quit. Next race, one thing is guaranteed: I will not be going down without a fight to keep my Leader jersey and secure it once and for all.

I have made a challenging decision to skip Sea Otter Classic this year, so that I can completely recover, train, and be race ready for Tehachapi. I wish the best of luck to all you fellow SoCal League racers in your races at Sea Otter... go show them the power of SoCalers!

I'm not looking at the full picture if I say: "I overcame..."; "I did this..."; "me, me, me". Because in fact it is not just me. I could not be where I am or saying what I am without my Savior Jesus Christ. I don't know if I would have made it without Him. I would have cracked, but He was there offering me unwavering strength and love. He is the faithful friend who cares for everyone so much that He gave His life so that everyone can live theirs. We are forever indebted to Him for His gift of life, but all He wants from us is simple trust in Him. To God be the glory forever!

And finally, I want to give a big thank you to my family for all your support these past weeks and to my sponsors for your continued support!

bottom of page