top of page

SoCal #3 - Keyesville

Scratchy throat, stuffy nose, and slightly sore lungs is not the ideal condition to start a race weekend. Nevertheless, that is how I felt Friday as we arrived at the Keyesville venue.

Friday afternoon my Dad, Vieve, and I pre-rode the course with our "extended team" (Redlands Homeschool). The course was exactly as I remembered it and I was pleasantly surprised at how normal my body felt despite my coming cold.

Saturday I stayed at camp, inside, out of the rain and wind, drinking lots of tea for my throat, and relaxing.

Sunday morning rolled around and I found myself feeling I had more time before the warm up because of camping at the pit. Soon enough I was on my trainer warming up. My throat was already starting to feel raw and my lungs a bit worked. Waiting at the start line there was a distinct wind blowing, but I was more concerned about how my body would feel with the race effort.

The race was on and I fell into my pre-race plan of going off steady and slowly pulling the field apart. It was working, by the first road climb the field was strung out. I was second into the first single track, but ended up fifth after "oak tree climb", the longest steepest singletrack climb. My legs couldn't match the pace of the other girls and my throat and lungs were feeling raw. I stayed in fifth place the rest of the lap. My body was maxed out by the combination of my cold and the effort. My body was tired, I felt sloppy, and my back was starting to hurt.

The whole second lap I tried to stay steady and I eventually pulled back fourth place. I caught fourth place on a short downhill section and had to wait for a pass. I tried to conserve a little energy while following her. I made my pass on a really short, steep hill before the finish area. When I got to the top I could feel the loss of energy from my surge, and hoped I had dropped her enough to establish my lead. I was sitting in fourth with a gap on fifth, through the finish area.

Now starting my third, and final lap, I started to really feel sick and weak. I tried to fight it as best I could but my body felt light and hard to control. My body wanted to quit. The last few "hills" were excruciating on my legs. As I got to the finish chute the JV and Sophomore girls around me were almost out pedaling me - I was spent. I crossed the line in fourth place, but all I was concerned about was not collapsing. I rode immediately back to camp where I tried to recover. My heart rate felt pinned, my lungs didn't want to work, my muscles were dead. I was glad to be done with the race and I placed well enough to keep the Leaders jersey!

Great job to all the racers who participated in the race at Keyesville, it's a fun and challenging course!

Thank you to my family and sponsors for your continued support!

bottom of page