top of page

Vail Lake Challenge 2018

The second race, Vail Lake Challenge, came hot on the heels of Beach to Boulders. With a road race in the gap weekend, I didn't have much good training between the SoCal races, but I felt confident in my fitness.

We arrived at the venue Friday night in time to setup camp before dark. Saturday morning Genevieve, Dad, and I sneaked out of our pre-ride before the rain started. The course felt great, and we went over the good lines and strategic points. Back at camp the rain started to come down as I continued to relax for the race the next morning.

Sunday morning rolled around and I was back in my pre-race schedule. Soon enough call-ups were underway and Brandon was giving us, Varsity girls, race instructions.

Then we were off... I led out the sprint from the line and through the first singletrack. I was hoping to fracture the group on the singletrack and continue on my charge up the fire road climb. My leg had a different idea... I have been struggling with a muscular problem in my left leg for the past months, and it flared up on the first singletrack. Once on the fire road climb I was dropped by the top four Varsity girls.

Frustrated. I knew the only thing I could do was back off my effort, recover my leg, and then continue racing. Mady passed me on the top of the climb, I tried to go with her, but my leg had no strength. I was now sitting in sixth place with seventh place not far behind and my mind switched to "damage control". "Just keep the jersey!" I kept telling myself. "All I need is fourth, and it's mine." (...so I thought!) By the bottom of the Tunnel of Love Mady had passed fourth place leaving Haley, currently fourth, as the girl for me to catch. By the next climb I had caught Haley and I could feel my leg starting to come back with some strength again! Before the next singletrack I passed Haley. As I passed through the finish area on my second lap, I set my sights to catch Mady, who I could not see yet. Not much else happened on the second lap, but I started to pull Mady's gap back until I passed her on the gravel road before the finish line.

I was (as I thought, safe in that place), but racing is not about "being safe". It is about pushing yourself as hard and far, both mentally and physically, as you can, and not "settling" for where you are! I quickly caught Mackenzie and passed her, now sitting in third, on the final road climb. The rest of the third lap was focused on reeling Genevieve, second place, in and also Gabbi, currently in first, as much as possible. As I rounded the top of the last punchy climb before the finish, the highlight of my race happened, Matt Gunnell, SoCal's League Director, was on course cheering me on! I couldn't help feeling so blessed to be a part of this awesome atmosphere (and racing!) that both Matt and Brandon have created. There is nothing like the Southern California High School League. Nothing else compares to the fun fast racing and the tremendous support from racers, parents, and staff alike! Thank you so much Matt and Brandon for all you do to give more kids the gift of riding and racing their bikes and making #morekidsonbikes happen! Thank you, to all the volunteers who keep this amazing racing going! And thank you, to all the people out on course cheering on all the racers and photographers for your race photos!

Well, I came in third and narrowly kept the Leader jersey away from Genevieve (by 1 point!). I stayed strong through the race and picked up a few placings which is what counts.

It was a frustrating race, knowing I should be up there, and I would be up there if my leg wasn't acting up. But I made the best of it, and I am pleased with that.

I want to thank my parents for all the support you give on a daily basis to keep me racing strong. Also, thank you to my sponsors support, Speed Tuned Wheels for the amazing race wheels, Oakley for the top notch sunglasses, and Ice Sports Wear for the best kits. And most importantly, to God be the glory. I would be nothing without Him. He has created me and given me the ability to race, and because of that I owe everything to Him.

"Not to us, O Lord, not to us, But to Your name give glory..." -Palm 115:1

bottom of page