top of page

SoCal 2017 Season Recap

Looking back on a season is always fun! This year was my first year that I raced in Varsity girls, and I had nervous anticipation heading into the season. I knew I had to stay positive, learn from my mistakes, and do my best even in the incredibly fast field of varsity!

Beach to Boulders, the first SoCal race of the year, is always nerve racking. Lining up at the start, not knowing how the other girls are feeling, only mounts the tension. Once the race starts nervousness is out the door and I am focused on racing. Beach to Boulders went relatively well for me this year, I ended up in fifth place. I did not have any mechanical problems, but I was able to use a little strategy to come in first out of the little group of three I was in!

Vail Lake Challenge came quickly on the heels of Beach to Boulders. I had a week and a half of good training and was feeling ready to race. After the first race I made a goal to try to stick with the lead girls, and now was the time to make it happen. The race started fast and I only managed to stay with the lead girls in the very beginning of the race, but I ended up placing third, and that I was happy about!

I was ready for Cruise the Keyes when it came. Keyesville is about as local of a race I get so I tried to take advantage of it by riding the course and getting familiar with it. I made it down both weekends before the race and was able to familiarize myself with the course. At the start of the race I was able to stay with the lead girls longer than before, which was really encouraging. I ended up in third place again!

The second Vail Race, Victory in Vail, was great! There was a Varsity loop added to this race, which made the climb longer and added a fun more technical downhill. I was able to stick with the leaders for the first lap and I could see them off and on throughout the rest of the race. With another fast varsity racer participating in this race, I placed fourth! For the first time this year I finished closer to the lead girls than the rest of the field behind me!

Tehachapi made a fun final race for the SoCal season. Made up of two main climbs and some fun downhill sections, Tehachapi is one of my favorite venues! The race ended well for me I was able to stick with the leaders for the first half lap. I almost caught them at the end of the downhill, but my chain fell off and I was unable to catch back up. I ended up in third place for this race and third in the series overall!

My year went well. I am overall pleased with my results and know I still have more room to improve! I am thrilled to be able to race again next year in varsity and use all the knowledge I have attained this year!

bottom of page